Welcome to Haiku Canada


Haiku Canada is a society of haiku poets and enthusiasts dedicated to:
– promoting the creation and appreciation of haiku and related forms (tanka, renga, senryu, sequences, haibun, and visual haiku) among its members and the public at large
– fostering association, friendship, communication and mutual support among haiku poets in Canada and abroad

Haiku Canada was founded in 1977 by Dr. Eric Amann, Betty Drevniok and George Swede. First called the Haiku Society of Canada, it was renamed Haiku Canada in 1985. Since the founding, members have shared information on haiku, haiku events, organizations, markets and publications.

Certain functions and traditions have evolved during the terms of previous presidents: Eric Amann (1977-1979), Betty Drevniok (1979-1982), Sandra Fuhringer (1982-1985), Dorothy Howard and André Duhaime(1985-1988), Dorothy Howard (1988-1990), Marshall Hryciuk (1990-1997), Nick Avis (1998-2004), DeVar Dahl (2005-2012), Terry Ann Carter (2013-2018), and Claudia Coutu Radmore (2018-2022). Angela Leuck is the current president.

Meetings, readings, annual spring weekends and various publications have provided members with stimulation and opportunities to learn and to share their work.

  • Latest news …