Welcome to Haiku Canada

The Betty Drevniok Award

Haiku Canada established this annual competition in memory of Betty Drevniok, past president of the society.

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS for the 2020 Annual Betty Drevniok Award

Deadline: January 22st, 2020.

Submit via email to: bettydrevniokaward2020@haikucanada.org

Subject line: 2020 Drevniok

Submit up to three unpublished haiku which are not under consideration anywhere else.
Put the three haiku in the body of an email, followed by your snail mail address as follows:
Your Name
Your email address
Your snail mail address (including city, state/province, country, postal code and telephone number)

Please do not number your haiku.

If you do not have access to email snail mail your submission to the coordinator as follows.
Submissions to be in hand by the deadline.
Carole MacRury
1636 Edwards Drive
Point Roberts, WA 98281

Winners will be announced at the Haiku Canada Weekend in May, 2020
and available by June 1st on the website.

The Betty Drevniok Award Results 2019

First prize - Simon Hanson, Tasmania, Australia
Second prize - Pamela A. Babusci, Rochester, USA
Third prize - Alan S. Bridges, Littleton, USA

Winning haiku and the list of honourable mentions

The judge's comments

Haiku from the 2013 Haiku Canada Holographic Anthology

one blossom closes
another opens
spring morning


cranberry bog
wading through
a million suns

~Ellen Cooper~

on his bedside table
a thin film of dust

~Pat Benedict~

wind on the water
I change the colour of her hair
in my poem

~Nick Avis~

Contact Haiku Canada: